Editor: Yoritaka Iwata

Series Title: Frontiers in Nuclear and Particle Physics

Progress of Time-Dependent Nuclear Reaction Theory

Volume 2

eBook: US $69 Special Offer (PDF + Printed Copy): US $153
Printed Copy: US $119
Library License: US $276
ISSN: 2589-7551 (Print)
ISSN: 2589-756X (Online)
ISBN: 978-1-68108-765-8 (Print)
ISBN: 978-1-68108-764-1 (Online)
Year of Publication: 2019
DOI: 10.2174/97816810876411190201


This book is a compilation of the latest theoretical methods for treating models in nuclear reactions. Initial chapters in this volume explain different aspects of time-dependent nuclear density functional theory, such as numerical calculations, density constrained models, multinucleon transfer reactions, and superfluid time dependent density functional theory. In addition, the volume also presents chapters covering other topics in nuclear physics, such as quantum molecular dynamics, cluster models in stable and unstable nuclei, chain structure theory in light nuclei, many-body systems and more. The volume is intended as a guidebook for graduate students and researchers to understand recent theories used in applied nuclear particle physics and astrology.


This book focuses on the time-dependent theory for sub-atomic reactions. There are two important theoretical ingredients for sub-atomic reactions such as heavy-ion reactions. One arises from the quantum theoretical aspects, and the other from the many-body theoretical aspects. At this point, for heavy-ion reactions, there is no theoretical calculations fully taking into account both of the two aspects. This simply tell us the difficulty of calculating and understanding many-nucleon systems.

Much attention is paid to low-energy heavy-ion reactions. Several types of model equa- tions are investigated. Mean-field type theories with or without pairing correlation are included in Chap. 1 (P. Stevenson), Chap. 2 (V.E. Oberacker and A. S. Umar), Chap. 3 (K. Sekizawa and K. Yabana), and Chp. 4 (P. Magierski); beyond the mean-field type theories are included in Chap. 5 (C. Simenel), Chap. 6 (D. Lacroix), Chap. 7 (A. Ono), Chap. 8 (A. Diaz-Torres), Chap. 9 (W. Cassing), Chap. 10 (N. Itagaki, T. Ichikawa, Y. Iwata and P. W. Zhao), and Chap. 11 (M. Kimura); semi-classical and classical theories are included in Chap. 12 (T. Maruyama), and Chap. 13 (Y. Aritomo).

This book is published to celebrate 65 years old birthday of Prof. Maruhn. Fourteen modern and advanced topics in the field of time-dependent reaction theory are included in this book. Eventually I would like to thank all the authors. Shehzad Naqvi and Omer Shafi of Bentham Science Publishers are acknowledged for their efforts to realize this publication

Yoritaka Iwata
School of Science,
The University of Tokyo
Hongo, Tokyo, Japan